A Time to Speak Up

I love worshipping God!

In my role as Worship Director I have the privilege to stand before God with my guitar and my voice and sing songs of praise and worship to Him. I also have the honour of leading the church I attend in worship as well. To me, I don’t see it as an “I lead and they follow” type arrangement, its more like “I’m here to worship God and I’d love it if you all would join with me”. I can’t make anyone worship God, all I can do is worship Him and hope others will join with me.

What has this got to do with speaking up? Well I have an opportunity to speak (preach) in 3 weeks time at my church. I will be speaking on worship and what it really is. My working title is “Living: Worship” and my aim is to share that worshipping God is a 24/7 lifestyle choice, its not something we come and do for an hour and a half on a Sunday. I hope that God will use the time to bring people back to the crux of worship and we will all leave behind our preferences and excuses we hide behind and totally surrender ourselves to God. I’m praying that God will use this message, not so I can look good but all for His Glory.

I’m so excited about it that my mind ticks over at night while im trying to get to sleep. I’m a really visual person, I see things in my mind, how they are going to work etc and that’s how I plan my presentation. I even do it when I read, takes me forever to read books because I ‘see’ what I’m reading! So I’ve been seeing myself speak and trying to write down the points and ideas I have. Note: ALWAYS keep a notepad or PDA next to your bed, often our best ideas come to us in the middle of the night.

So if you’re a praying person, please pray for me over the next few weeks as I prepare the message. I’ll be sure to post how it went.

Ed

1 Comment

Filed under God Stuff, Worship

One response to “A Time to Speak Up

  1. Pingback: Home Alone « My Authentic Life

Leave a Reply

