Birthday Reflections

CakeToday is my birthday!! I’ve officially been alive for three decades (that’s 30 years), for some of you that’s a long way away for others it’s been a long time 😉

I find that birthdays are a great time for me to sit and reflect on my life, to look back at all the things I’ve experienced and think about how they have shaped the person I am today. I find this time extremely valuable, it helps me keep things in perspective and most of all it reminds me to be thankful to God for His work in my life.

My relationship with God is the most valuable thing I have in this world. I have the opportunity to speak with, learn from and connect with the Creator of the universe. A God who loves me more than I could ever comprehend, who takes me as I am but loves me too much to leave me that way. A God who has a plan for me (Jeremiah 29:11), who longs for me to realise that His ways are the best ways. A God who spared nothing to restore my broken relationship with Him. A God who is patient, loving and gracious, forgiving of my stuff ups and has a gentle hand of correction. God who is the beginning and the end of all things, incomprehensible yet can be know personally… what an amazing God!

As I look back on my life I can see God at work. Sure I have regrets, I’ve done some stupid things and I have lived with the consequences, but I can testify that God does work all things for good for those who love Him (Romans 8:28).

Today I want to publicly declare that God is good! That I am so thankful to Him for all the things he has brought into my life to teach, guide and lead me in His service. All the good, all the bad and all the in-between He has used to shape me into the man I am today, and for that I thank Him.

God isn’t finished with me yet and I will serve and follow Him until the day I take my last breath. Here’s to another 30 years of following my Lord and Saviour!

Thank you God for Your loving kindness, your endless mercy and amazing grace! Teach me to be a faithful follower of You, my life belongs to You, now and forever. Amen

comments?

2 Comments

Filed under About Me, Family, God Stuff, Random

2 responses to “Birthday Reflections

  1. Eddy,

    A great post on an auspicious day for you. It is marvelous to read God’s will working in another life in this way.

    Yes God is Great and wonderful and joyous and love. He is alive and everywhere. I just wish more could see that.

    By the way – Many Happy Returns.

    Ernest

    • Eddy

      Thanks Ernest I had a great birthday!

      Personally I think we don’t look often enough for God in the little things in our lives. Sure God can do ‘big things’ but often we learn the most when we stop to see Him working in the every day…

      Amazing!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

