What is your passion?

BooksWhat is your passion? What do you LOVE to do? If you had a choice to do anything you wanted to do with your life what would it be?

God places passion in our lives… that strong desire to do something because we love it, it brings us joy and a sense of fulfillment. When we are doing it nothing is better, we’re motivated, excited, ambitious and extremely focused.

Ever been like that?
Do you know what I’m talking about?

Now how many of us actually do that every day, do that as our job, live to fulfil our passion? This isn’t some hedonistic pursuit I’m talking about, if we’re honest most of us know that our passion is something that we really want to do but for many reasons we just cant seem to justify pursuing it. Life gets on top of us, we work a tedious job because we have responsibilities, bills need to be paid and we cant see beyond our current circumstances.

Sound familiar?

Let’s face it, that’s life for most of us and its just how it is for now. Very few of us are blessed enough to be pursuing our passion full time, but you know that’s totally OK! Life isn’t all about getting what we want is it, but it is about balance and this is where it gets important. Everyone knows that we need to have a good balance in our lives if we’re to stay physically, emotionally, mentally and spiritually healthy. We need a work/life balance, a balanced diet and regular exercise, enough sleep vs. waking hours etc.

But often we don’t balance our pursuit of our passions and that’s not healthy. Sure we can be over zealous and pursue them at all costs but more often than not we somehow feel that its not as important, we can do without it or that it’s selfish to pursue those things… I don’t believe that to be so.

God has given each one of us a passion for something and He designed us to go after that passion because it’s part of who He intends us to be. To ignore your passion, or more to the point, ignore making time to pursue it is selling ourselves short of the person that God wants us to be. Whether its, music, gardening, reading, golf, writing, scrap-booking, social justice, theology or whatever, that passion is God given and He wants you to make time to pursue it because He will use it to grow you into the person He has designed you to be…

I believe passion is a biblical concept because God is a passionate God. He is characterised by Joy, Love, Faithfulness and Justice… He created the world with passion, Jesus lived on earth with a passion to know God’s will and to follow it and His passion for us took Him to the cross.  it drives us to be focused, committed and active. Think about the characteristics of someone who has a passion for something. They’re always talking about it, they strive to know everything there is to know about it, they live it and breath it and when it comes to pursuing it they are laser focused. Passion is a good thing because it motivates us to get going, to be active and to get things done.

Is your life out of balance? Do you need to set aside time to pursue your passion? I’d love to hear about your passion and how you go about pursuing it, please leave a comment 🙂

8 Comments

Filed under Family, God Stuff, Life Coaching, Worship

8 responses to “What is your passion?

  1. Thank you so much for this post, it is so SO encouraging. If you see my last lengthy entry, I am totally wrestling with this right now. For me, my passions are Music (especially worship)+ Ministry (the Church). Figuring out how to enjoy doing what I choose for a living is the hard part. And the whole direction and next step thing.

    • Eddy

      Hi Lorijo

      You’re welcome for the post… it’s something that I have to work through every day as I have my ‘day job’ which pays the bills but is far from my passion.

      I find that the best way forward is to look for what God wants to teach me right here right now and how I can serve Him where I am. I trust that He knows what He’s doing and I’m determined to be faithful to Him, no matter where that may be.

      Trust God in all things, its totally worth it!!

  2. Eddy,

    By passion, perhaps you mean a Gift, given by God for use to use not just for us, but for the benefit of the whole (Church) community.

    I had believed after 40+ years of administration in work, which I thoroughly enjoyed and believe that I have been reasonably successful at, that I had done all that I could possibly achieve.

    As you know, God had other ideas. He has called me to test a vocation to Ministry – this is now a passion, which I want to do whole heartedly, and it will not go away, nor will I lose enthusiasm for it.

    So being called to serve is the greatest passion in my life and I will now serve God and my community till the end in one form or another.

    God is Great!!

    • Eddy

      Hi Ernest

      I believe there is a difference between a passion and a gift. For me, God gives us gifts both natural and spiritual for us to use to serve Him and others. We also have things we are passionate about which are not necessarily gifts as defined above. Yes we could draw comparisons between the two, however in this post i’m referring to the passions we may have for things that excite us that aren’t necessarily ‘gifts’ from God.

      That said… I find your new found passion for God and His service really encouraging and uplifting, thank you brother!

  3. Thanks for your encouragement Ed, last night at College Group, I led worship and am so humbled to be given the opportunity to do so at my church, and in our small group time we were talking about what is worship… BTW you’ve got to check out the last 4 videos that our church used this Sunday in our annual all-music service http://vimeo.com/sandalschurch great theme: glory+honor+praise and I know that the subject of worship is one that I get excited about when I’m talking about it. It is definitely what I’m most passionate about, and I was reminded, AGAIN, and having your post fresh on my mind just underlined this idea. I still don’t know where that takes me…but…one day at a time. Trust+Obedience.

  4. Stephanie

    I really feel that gardening, food stuffs is my passion. To provide wholesome food to the world. I don’t know if I’m supposed to go overseas and help make a garden for a village or what. I love to nurture people, plants and things. I have some more student loan debt that I’ve been trying to pay off, I feel like I’m in a holding pattern too. I read your earlier post about this. I just need God’s guidance.

    • Eddy

      Thanks for sharing with us Stephanie! I want to encourage you to learn all that you can whilst in the “holding pattern” phase. We can learn so much if we simply remember to look for lessons in those times as well as looking ahead to what we want to do in the future.

      Your ideas are certainly very admirable and I wish you all the best for the future!

Leave a Reply

