A Time to Learn

So yesterday my last lot of textbooks arrived and it hit me that, yes I’m about to dive back into the world of education once again.

I’ve decided that it’s time to finish my Theology studies in order to better prepare myself for what God has for me in the future. If you know my story, you’ll know that I was a youth pastor for ten years and worship director for three before leaving those positions because I needed fulltime work to provide for my growing family.

I know deep inside that ministry is my calling, it’s what makes me want to get up in the mornings. I don’t know where or in what capacity it will be, but I know that its wise for me to prepare now for what it to come.

I’ll be studying part-time by distance education while continuing to work fulltime, at least for now. I’m exploring if we can afford for me to go part-time at work but for now it’ll be five days of work and then my study.

Sounds a little crazy and if you’ve been following our Tithe Experiment you’ll know that we’re taking a huge step in faith this year with our finances and that our second child is due in August, so to be honest I’m not sure how I’ll cope, but I know that I have to trust that God will lead us through.

I’m after some advice, have you had any experience working and studying at the same time? Do you have any tips/time savers/advice etc that you can send my way? I’d appreciate all the help I can get!

2 Comments

Filed under About Me, Family, God Stuff, Life Coaching

2 responses to “A Time to Learn

  1. Ed- I pastored full-time while I finished up my masters degree, we had 2 children at the time. I’m not going to lie to you, it was very difficult, but it was also rewarding. I found that having more “on my plate” forced me to focus on what was truly important. It helped me gain some clarity on how I spent my time.

    One thing that I learned was that I needed to do my studying away from the kids or after they were asleep. That way I could truly be present when I was with them. It’s hard for younger kids to understand why you can’t play if they can see you.

    • Eddy

      Thanks for your honest advice Jeff. I’m not fooling myself that it’ll be easy and love the advice to study after the kids are in bed, at least they are still young and go to bed early.

      I’m also kind of glad that my current job has no after hours commitments, I would struggle if I was still in ministry, however I do miss the tax benefits of work related study 😉

Leave a Reply

